Decision on suspended MPs soon: Govt

Decision on suspended MPs soon: Govt

Womens Reservation Bill: United Opposition stalls Question Hour

Decision on suspended MPs soon: Govt

Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav and Rashtriya Janata Dal supremo Lalu Prasad Yadav at Parliament in New Delhi on Thursday. The two are opposed to Women's Reservation Bill in its present form. PTI

An assurance to this effect was given on Thursday by Parliamentary Affairs Minister P K Bansal in the Lok Sabha after RJD member Raghuvansh Prasad Singh vociferously protested against the members being kept out of the Upper House.

“What about the seven members who have been thrown out of the Rajya Sabha,” Singh asked soon after Leader of the House Pranab Mukherjee made a statement that an agreement had been reached on the smooth functioning of the Lok Sabha. “They are on hunger strike,” said Shailendra Kumar (SP).

This prompted Bansal to assure the Lok Sabha that the matter was under discussion between the suspended members and the government.

The issue also came to the fore in Rajya Sabha when opposition BJP, AIADMK and Left parties came together to demand revocation of the suspension but the ruling Congress said those showing disrespect to the Chair should express regret before such a move is initiated.

A united Opposition disrupted the Question Hour on the issue, forcing two quick adjournments.

Immediately after the House assembled in the morning, Leader of the Opposition Arun Jaitley expressed regret to Chairman Hamid Ansari for the conduct of some members when the Constitution Amendment Bill to earmark one-third seats for women in Lok Sabha and state Assemblies was introduced in the Upper House.

The suspension has led to members of Samajwadi Party and RJD to keep away from the proceedings, he said adding those boycotting the House as well as those suspended should be brought back. “Some MPs were abstaining from the proceedings because their colleagues have been suspended. We urge the government to bring a motion to revoke the suspension,” Jaitley said. He was supported by CPM member Sitaram Yechury, who also demanded that the suspension be revoked. However, Congress MP Jayanti Natarajan said “the suspended members should apologise”.

The suspended MPs are Kamal Akhtar, Veerpal Singh Yadav, Amir Alam Khan and Nand Kishore Yadav (all SP), Ejaz Ali (formerly Janata Dal-(U), Sabir Ali (Lok Janshakti Party) and Subhash Prasad Yadav (RJD).

The MPs had created pandemonium near the chairman’s podium on Monday after he instructed Union Law Minister Veerappa Moily to move the Women’s Reservation Bill for consideration. They continued their protest on Tuesday, following which a resolution was moved providing for their suspension.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox