CM convenes meet on Jan 9 to pick Lokayukta

CM convenes meet on  Jan 9 to pick Lokayukta

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah has convened a meeting of a high-level committee on January 9 to pick the new Lokayukta.

The anti-corruption agency has remained headless since December 2015 after Justice Y Bhaskar Rao quit as the Lokayukta.

Besides the chief minister, the high-level committee comprises Chief Justice of Karnataka High Court S K Mukherjee, Assembly Speaker K B Koliwad, Legislative Council Chairman D H Shankaramurthy, Leaders of the Opposition in the two Houses of the legislature Jagadish Shettar and K S Eshwarappa.

In May 2016, Governor Vajubhai Vala had rejected the state government’s recommendation to appoint Justice S R Nayak as the new Lokayukta. Justice Nayak is currently chairman of the Karnataka State Law Commission.

The names of former high court judge Justice P Vishwanth Shetty and former chief justice of Karnataka High Court Justice D H  Waghela are doing the rounds as the government’s choice for the post of Lokayukta. A source said the government may even propose the name of Justice Nayak again. However, chief minister’s office did not confirm any names.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)