Pujara shines but Gujarat take control

Pujara shines but Gujarat take control

 Cheteshwar Pujara ploughed a lone furrow and made a fighting 86 as Rest of India floundered against Gujarat’s bowling attack and were pushed against the ropes by the newly-crowned Ranji Trophy champions in the Irani Cup match on Saturday.

At stumps on day two of the five-day match, Rest were struggling at 206 for 9 wickets, chasing Gujarat’s first innings total of 358, with captain Pujara’s 221-minute effort being the cornerstone of his team’s innings.

The not out batsmen at close were number 10 and 11, Pankaj Singh (7) and Mohammed Siraj (8) and Gujarat were well-poised to take a handy first innings lead on Sunday at the Brabourne Stadium here.

Pujara, who came in to bat after the early fall of opener Abhinav Mukund for eight off the last ball of the 9th over bowled by Chintan Gaja, kept the innings together while the other batsmen fell around him.

The Saurashtra batsman was seventh out after hitting nine fours in 156 balls, caught behind top-edging a short ball from Ishwar Chaudhary.

In fact, three wickets fell at the same score of 191 – with Kuldeep Singh and Shahbaz Nadeem being the others to be dismissed before and after Pujara as Gujarat slumped from 166 for three to 192 for nine in 16 overs.

score board

GUJARAT (I Innings; O/n: 300/8): Chirag Gandhi c & b Kaul 169, Hardik Patel (not out) 18, Ishwar Chaudhary c Tiwary b Pankaj Singh 15. Extras (LB-2, W-2) 4. Total (all out, 102.5 overs) 358.
Fall of wickets: 9-333.

Bowling: Pankaj Singh 22.5-5-104-4, Siddarth Kaul 26-4-86-5, Mohammed Siraj 16-5-49-0, Kuldeep Yadav 16-3-61-0, Shahbaz Nadeem 19-2-43-0, Akhil Herwadkar 3-0-13-1.     

REST OF INDIA (I Innings): Akhil Herwadkar c Raval b Hardik 48, Abhinav Mukund c Gohel b Gaja 8, Cheteshwar Pujara c Parthiv b Chaudhary 86, Karun Nair c Parthiv b Gaja 28, Manoj Tiwary lbw Thadani 12, Wridhimann Saha lbw Thadani 0, Kuldeep Yadav lbw Hardik 5, Shahbaz Nadeem c Gaja b Hardik 0, Siddarth Kaul c Parthiv b Gaja 0, Pankaj Singh (batting) 7, Mohammed Siraj (batting) 8. Extras (B-4) 4. Total (for 9 wkts; 72 overs) 206. 

Fall of wickets: 1-21, 2-89, 3-136, 4-166, 5-170, 6-191, 7-191, 8-191, 9-192. Bowling: Chintan Gaja 17-4-46-3, Mohit Thadani 15-3-48-2, Ishwar Chaudhary 14-5-28-1, Hardik Patel 25-5-73-3, Karan Patel 1-0-7-0.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0