Yakshagana Academy awards presented

Yakshagana Academy awards presented

Yakshagana Academy awards presented

Yakshagana Academy award winners along with Dharmastala Dharmadhikari D Veerendra Heggade and other dignitaries in Dharmasthala on Sunday. dh photo

Speaking after presenting the Karnataka Yakshagana Bayalata Academy awards for the year 2008 and 2009 in Dharmastala on Sunday, he said Yakshagana enlivens ‘Navarasas’ and guides an artiste to shape himself into an ideal personality.

“The Yakshagana prasangas of ‘Ramayana’ and ‘Mahabharatha’, which I had seen in my childhood motivated me to become a successful person in life,” he recalled. Government has bestowed its due respect on Yakshagana by conferring awards on artistes, he added. Heggade announced that Rs five lakh will be donated to the Academy to popularise Yakshagana.

District In-Charge Minister J Krishna Palemar released a booklet on award winners and said achievers in Yakshagana should motivate the younger generations.

Academy Chairman Kumble Sundar Rao delivering the keynote address sought to include Yakshagana in school curriculum.

The Academy has chalked out several programmes for the rejuvenation of Yakshagana art. Training camps are being organised at Udupi, Karkala, Ujire, Kinnigoli, Kasargod and Shimoga. The Academy is also committed to provide training in Bharathanatyam, classical music and Kathakali.

Secretary of Kannada and Culture Department and Information Department B R Jayaramaraje Urs said a cash reward of Rs one lakh will be given to a Yakshagana artiste every year for outstanding achievements in the field, in the name of Yakshagana doyen Parthisubba. Steps will be taken to introduce Yakshagana and other folk arts in school and college curriculum. Efforts will also be made to bring the UNESCO recognition to Yakshagana, he added.

Legislator K Vasanth Bangera, MLC Capt Ganesh Karnik, D Harshendra Kumar and Academy Registrar P Narayanaswamy were present.

Award winners

2008 : H Subbanna Bhat, Karki Narayana Hasyagara, Molahalli Heriya Naik, Hosahitlu Mahalinga Bhat, Vandse Narayana Ganiga, Ramaiah Rai, K Fakeera Gerukatte, Madevaiah Nooli, K N Dasachar and Siddanna Channappa Sarasambi.

2009: Kadandelu Purushothama Bhat, Peruvadi Narayana Bhat, Matyadi Narasimha Shetty, Dharmashale Mahabaleshwar Bhat, Mukyaprana Kinnigoli, Sheenappa Rai, Sampaje, M K Ramesh Acharya, Khadar Sab, K B Jayachandra Raja, Arasu and Kashibayi Dadanatti.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox