Karnataka stay in the hunt

Cricket Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Karnataka stay in the hunt

Mayank Agarwal’s measured half-century and a disciplined bowling effort helped Karnataka hand Hyderabad their first defeat in the South Zone leg of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament here at the MA Chidambaram stadium on Thursday.

Chasing Karnataka’s tricky but achievable 148, Hyderabad got off to an excellent start with a 66-run opening stand between Tanmay Agarwal (22) and Akshath Reddy (42 off 32 balls) but they struggled to keep up with the required rate thereafter as the left-arm seamer S Aravind (3/25) and left-arm spinner J Suchith (2/18) struck at regular intervals.

S Badrinath remained unbeaten on 37, but wickets fell steadily around him and the skipper himself could manage only three fours in a 31-ball innings as Hyderabad finished on 134 for 6.

After they chose to bat, Karnataka's innings was built around two significant contributions. Opener Mayank Agarwal made 65 off 55 balls, while their No 5 Pavan Deshpande scored 32 off 24. The two added 63 for the fourth wicket after Karnataka had slipped to 49 for 3, and eventually set them up for a total of 148 for 7.

Left-arm spinner Mehdi Hasan was Hyderabad's most successful bowler with figures of 3 for 16. 

Brief scores: Karnataka: 148/7 in 30 overs (Mayank Agarwal 65, Pavan Deshpande 32; Mehdi Hassan 3-16, Chama Milind 2-19) bt Hyderabad: 134/6 in 20 overs (S Arvind 3-25, J Suchith 2-18). Karnataka: 4 points; Hyderabad: 0 point.

Goa: 86 all out in 18.4 overs (Jalaj Saxena 2-15, Basil Thampi 3-19, Raifi Gomez 2-8) lt to Kerala: 87/1 in 7.5 overs (Vishnu Vinod 35). Kerala: 4; Goa: 0.

Tamil Nadu: 179/5 in 20 overs (Vijay Shankar 69, R Sathish 32 n.o.) bt Andhra: 142/6 in 20 overs (Hanuma Vihari 37, Ricky Bhui 61; Sathish 2-18). TN: 4; Andhra: 0.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)