Campaigning for second phase of polling ends

Campaigning for second phase of polling ends

Campaigning for the second phase of polling in Uttar Pradesh came to an end on Monday, with a record number of rallies by major political players.

Polling for 67 Assembly seats in 11 districts in the Rohilkhand region of the state would be held on Wednesday.

The districts going to polls include Saharanpur, Moradabad, Sambhal, Lakhimpur-Kheri, Bareilly, Rampur, Budaon, Shahjahanpur, Bijnore, Amroha and Pilibhit.

The polling would decide the fate of nearly 720 candidates. Prominent among those whose fate would be decided on Wednesday included firebrand SP leader Azam Khan, state ministers Iqbal Mehmoond and Riaz Ahmed.

In the 2014 Assembly polls, the SP had won 34 seats, while the BJP had managed to win 10 seats. The BSP had emerged victorious on 11 seats.

Star campaigners of almost all the major players addressed election rallies in the region on Monday in a bid to woo the electorate.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi, BSP supremo Mayawati and Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav addressed gatherings across Rohilkhand on Monday.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)