Anurag Thakur apologises to SC

Anurag Thakur apologises to SC

Former BCCI president Anurag Thakur, who was warned of contempt action over his failure to implement Lodha panel reforms in cricket, has tendered an “unconditional apology” to the Supreme Court.

Thakur and BCCI secretary Ajay Shirke were sacked by the court on January 2 over non-compliance with its orders.

“I humbly submit that this was never the intention of the deponent and if this is the impression that has been created, at the outset I tender my unconditional and unequivocal apology,” Thakur said in an affidavit to the court.

Responding to the apex court’s notice of perjury, he said, he is a public servant having been elected three times as Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha, and has been in public life from a very early age.

He submitted he has the “highest respect and regards for the honourable court and would never have done anything to undermine the honourable court.”

The court had then asked him to apologise if he wanted to escape the charges.

5 judges elevated to apex court
 Five judges, including one from the Karnataka High Court, were on Wednesday elevated to the Supreme Court, taking its working strength to 28, reports DHNS from New Delhi.

President Pranab Mukherjee has signed their Warrants of Appointment and the notifications will be issued shortly, sources in the government said.

Those elevated to the apex court are five high court judges, including four chief justices of state high courts.

They are: Madras High Court Chief Justice Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Rajasthan HC Chief Justice Naveen Sinha, Kerala HC Chief Justice Mohan M Shantanagouder, Chhattisgarh HC Chief Justice Dipak Gupta and Karnataka HC judge S Abdul Nazeer.

Chief Justice of India J S Khehar, Justice Pinaki Chandra Ghose and Justice Prafulla Chandra Pant are retiring from the Supreme Court this year.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)