5 new SC judges assume office

Five new judges, including one from the Karnataka High Court, took charge at the Supreme Court on Friday after being administered the oath of office by Chief Justice J S Khehar.

Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul, Navin Sinha, Mohan M Shantanagoudar, Deepak Gupta and S Abdul Nazeer heard cases along with other judges after the ceremony.

Justices Kaul and Sinha were chief justices of the Madras High Court and the Rajasthan High Court respectively. Justice Shantanagoudar was the chief justice of the high court in Kerala, while Justice Gupta headed the Chhattisgarh High Court. Justice Nazeer was a judge in the Karnataka High Court. Around 10 judges from the Karnataka High Court attended the ceremony.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)