Sarda looks to retain title

Tenpin National Championship : Women's champ Sabeena gunning for tenth

Sarda looks to retain title

Defending champion Dhruv Sarda will be hoping to safeguard his crown amidst stiff competition when the Amoeba 27th National Tenpin Bowling Championship kicks off here on Sunday.

The national championship, featuring an unprecedented 145 participants (125 men and 20 women), will be held at the Amoeba from Sunday (February 19) to February 24.

Delhi’s Sarda, who also won the crown in 2012 and 2013, starts as the favourite but a clutch of former champions will be looking to get their names inscribed again on the trophy. The talented Shabbir Dhankot, champion in 2010 and 2011, emerged as the pick among the other contenders.

Veterans Vijay Punjabi, 2007 and 2008 champion, and H V Sarda, winner in the 1999, 2004 and 2009 editions, will be keen to stage a resurrection. S A Hameed is another national champion (2003) in the field. Akaash Ashok Kumar will be carrying Karnataka’s hopes in the week-long meet.

In the women’s section, defending champion Sabeena Athica of Tamil Nadu (TN) will be gunning for her 10th crown and getting the better of her will require some effort from others contenders. Telangana’s Sumathi Nallabantu, the 2005 and 2008 winner, would again be looking to stop Sabeena from galloping away to victory.
Karnataka’s 15-year-old Sunil Patil will be the youngest competitor in action.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)