Rebels may spoil BJP, SP, BSP game plan in Poorvanchal

Rebels may spoil BJP, SP, BSP game plan in Poorvanchal

Rebels may spoil BJP, SP, BSP game plan in Poorvanchal

Large-scale rebellion in BJP, BSP and SP in eastern Uttar Pradesh, or ‘Poorvanchal’, which goes to polls in the last two phases of polling in the state, may hit their electoral prospects in the region.

While at some places the rebels have jumped into the electoral arena on some other party's ticket or as independents, many of them have also joined hands with their rivals to ensure defeat of their own parties’ official candidates.

In Azamgarh, BJP rebels have entered the fray in Phulpur Pawai and Didarganj Assembly constituencies, giving a headache to the official nominees.

In Didarganj, former BJP MP Rama Kant Yadav's daughter-in-law Archana Yadav is contesting as an independent candidate,while Ram Surat Rajbhar is challenging the official nominee at Phulpur. BJP has expelled both leaders from the party.

The saffron party faces open rebellion from senior party leaders in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Lok Sabha constituency of Varanasi. Seven-time MLA from Varanasi (South) Shyamdeo Roy Chowdhary, who was denied nomination this time, has withdrawn from campaigning.

BJP also faces dissension on Varanasi Cantonment seat. The party has expelled senior leader and Kisan Morcha (farmers’ cell) general secretary Sujeet Singh after he jumped into the fray as an independent.

In Ballia district also BJP leaders Ketki Singh and Arvind Rai are contesting as independents from Bansdih and Sikandarpur seats respectively. Several BJP rebels are in the fray as independents in Kushinagar, Bhadohi, Jaunpur and Deoria districts.

The situation in Samajwadi Party is no different and the party is facing large-scale dissension in Ghazipur, Bhadohi, Gorakhpur and some other districts. Former UP minister Vijay Mishra is contesting on the ticket of a caste-based regional outfit from Bhadohi seat against the SP nominee.