Poorvanchal, upper castes dominate new UP cabinet

Poorvanchal, upper castes dominate new UP cabinet

Poorvanchal, upper castes dominate new UP cabinet

As expected, Poorvanchal (eastern UP region) and upper caste members have dominated the cabinet of Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. Of the 49-member cabinet, including the chief minister, as many as 17 hail from Poorvanchal, indicating the dominance of the region.

Besides, deputy chief minister Keshav Prasad Maurya, Swami Prasad Maurya, Surya Pratap Shahi, Dara Singh Chauhan, Siddharth Nath Singh, Upendra Tiwari, Nad Kumar Nandi, Om Prakash Rajbhar, Anil Rajbhar, Neelkanth Tiwari, Jai Prakash Nishad and Girish Yadav also come from districts in the eastern region.

During campaigning, Prime Minister Narendra Modi as well as BJP national president Amit Shah had said that the saffron party would take steps for the development of the backward Poorvanchal region.

Modi had campaigned vigorously in his Lok Sabha constituency of Varanasi and had addressed rallies in different parts of the region. The saffron party was able to virtually demolish the SP and BSP bastions in the eastern region in the just-concluded Assembly elections.

The second on the list is the representation from the western region. As many as 12 ministers are from the western region in the state. The backward Bundelkhand region has got only one minister, while the Avadh region, which was swept by the BJP in the polls, has nine representatives.

Although Adityanath’s cabinet had representation from different communities, the dominance of the upper castes was visible — there are 26 ministers hailing from the upper castes.

There are eight Brahmins and seven Thakurs in the cabinet.  While Adityanath himself is from the Thakur community, one of the deputy chief ministers, Dinesh Sharma, is a Brahmin. The cabinet has 15 ministers from the backward communities.