Second unit of Yeramarus power plant commissioned

Second unit of Yeramarus power plant commissioned

The second 800-MW unit of Yeramarus thermal plant in Raichur district was commissioned on Thursday.

The first unit of the 2x800 MW plant was commissioned in March last, BHEL, which commissioned the units, said in a statement.

The project has been developed by Raichur Power Corporation Ltd (RPCL), a joint venture with equity participation from Karnataka Power Corporation Ltd (KPCL) and BHEL.

The company's scope of work for the project envisaged design, engineering, manufacture, supply, erection and commissioning of the supercritical boiler and turbine generators along with associated civil works and some of the balance of plant (BoP) packages.

BHEL has been a major partner of KPCL in the development of Karnataka's power sector, having supplied and executed 4,810 MW of coal-based sets for KPCL and its JV, accounting for about 96% of the installed coal-based capacity in the state, the statement said.

The company is also executing KPCL's first gas-based combined cycle power project of 370 MW capacity involving a fuel-efficient advanced-class gas turbine at Yelahanka, it said.