Nanjangud records good voter turnout

Nanjangud records good voter turnout

Bypolls: Voting goes off peacefully in Gundlupet, Nanjangud

Nanjangud records good voter turnout

Barring minor glitches, the bypoll to Nanjangud Assembly (reserve) constituency was largely peaceful and brisk from early morning on Sunday. Despite the hot weather, voter turnout was good at an approximate 77.56%.

Amidst tight security, a total of 2,00,498 voters, including 1,01,267 men and 99,231 women came out to vote. Voting was 6.5% at 9 am; 26.11% at 11 am; 44.98% by 1 pm; 60.79% by 3 pm and approximately 76.84% by 5 pm.

However, the final percentage of voting would be confirmed only after all the booths reach the demustering centre, D Randeep, the Deputy Commissioner and District Election Officer said.

As compared to 2013 Assembly elections, the polling percentage increased in the constituency. In 2008, the constituency had registered 76.18% out of 1,85,095, while this time, the segment has a total of 2,00,498 voters, including 1,01,267 men and 99,231 women.

The polls have been necessitated in Nanjangud following the resignation of Congress MLA V Srinivas Prasad after he was dropped from the ministry. While Prasad contested on a BJP ticket, Kalale N Keshavamurthy is the Congress candidate. In addition, nine others were in the fray. However, JD(S) did not field its candidate. Keshavamurthy had lost to Prasad by a margin of 9,000 votes in the previous election.

Polling delayed

The voting process was delayed by an hour at Chinnadagundi polling station due to technical glitches in the control unit. The Election Officer said following technical problems, VVPAT, control unit and EVM were replaced.

Counting of votes will be held on Thursday from 8 am at JSS First Grade College in Nanjangud. Following the polls, the EVMs, VVPATs and control units have been shifted to a strong room in the college. The authorities have arranged tight security for the strong room.