Palike to have 10 zones, up from 8

The Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike will now have 10 administrative zones in place of the existing eight zones.

The government took a decision to this effect on Monday, in order to restructure the administrative set-up of BBMP and deliver better services to the citizens. Increasing the number of zones was part of the B S Patil committee recommendations, which was constituted to restructure BBMP.

The 10 zones are Yelahanka, Dasarahalli, Sarvagnanagar, Mahadevapura, Bommanahalli, Rajarajeshwarinagar, Jayanagar, Malleswaram, Gandhinagar and Vijayanagar.

The existing eight zones are East, West, South, Bommanahalli, Dasarahalli, Rajarajeshwarinagar, Yelahanka and Mahadevapura. East, West and South zones were considered as the core area of Bengaluru.

They were restructured and five zones were carved out of them - Sarvagnanagar, Jayanagar, Malleswaram, Gandhinagar and Vijayanagar.

South zone was the biggest, having seven Assembly constituencies and 44 wards in its jurisdiction.

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0