Pak to take on Lanka in Asia Cup opener

The 11-day-long tournament would be played on a single-leg round-robin basis with the top two teams entering the final to be held on June 24, with the next day slated as a reserve day, a media release from broadcast rights owners Nimbus Sport said today. The Asian Cricket Council and Nimbus have signed a five-year deal for events to be held up to 2014, including three Asia Cup events, the release added.

ACC Chief Executive Ashraful Huq hoped the partnership with Nimbus would help the continental championship to continue to grow "its premier status exponentially across the world."

He also expressed confidence that the agreement would "go a long way in creating possibilities for more Asian nations to play at the highest level possible." The Asia Cup will be held every alternate year – this year followed by editions in 2012 and 2014. Each tournament would feature India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh playing each other in a league format, with the top two teams playing off in a final to identify the champions of Asia.

Asia Cup 2010 schedule:
June 15: Sri Lanka v Pakistan
June 16: India v Bangladesh
June 17: Reserve Day
June 18: Sri Lanka v Bangladesh
June 19: Pakistan v India
June 20: Reserve Day
June 21: Pakistan v Bangladesh
June 22: India v Sri Lanka
June 23: Reserve Day
June 24: Final
June 25: Reserve Day.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get the top news in your inbox
Comments (+)