Suresh C'magalur TP president, Nandini deputy

President and vice president were elected unanimously

Though Congress had more seats and it was likely to hold the president’s post, it was JD(S)’ chance to get that place in some unexpected developments. Congress could be satisfied only with the vice-president’s post in the election. Sub-divisional officer Arundhathi was the election officer.

D J Suresh is basically a coffee grower, who had accidentally entered into politics. He was the member of Vastare gram panchayat and later became its vice-president. He contested the taluk panchayat elections when he was still in power, and won from Vastare constituency.

Nandini had entered TP from Devadana constituency. She was the aspirant for the president’s post in the previous elections but left the position as per the instructions of the party leadership.

She was again aspiring for the president’s post, but had to satisfy with the deputy’s position.

Though BJP had tried for ‘Operation Kamala,’ it was unsuccessful, since two of the three Congress members remained with their party against the calculations of the BJP.

The BJP members were absent for the election. JD(S) leader S L Bhoje Gowda, Vastare Gram Panchayat President Suresh, Congress spokesperson A N Mahesh, former TP member Shivakumar, ZP former member S Pete Sathish, TP former member Bhairegowda congratulated the newly elected president Suresh and vice president Nandini on the occasion.

Comments (+)