20 BJP MLAs ready to join Cong: KPCC chief

20 BJP MLAs ready to join Cong: KPCC chief

Stung by the exit of several senior leaders from the party and amid fear that more might quit, KPCC president G Parameshwara on Monday claimed that 20 MLAs from the Opposition BJP were ready to join the Congress. 

Channapatna legislator C P Yogeeshwara joined the list of leaders like S M Krishna, A H Vishwanath, V Srinivas Prasad and Jayaprakash Hegde who have quit the Congress.

“There was no indication of people leaving the party. The party is not concerned about those who have quit. There are 20 BJP MLAs ready to join us,” Parameshwara told reporters.

Apparently, the party’s top leadership has drawn up an action plan to retain its leaders and keep them from quitting after it came up for discussion during the state Congress leaders' meeting with AICC vice-president Rahul Gandhi recently.

BJP state president B S Yeddyurappa last week also claimed that legislators from the Congress and the JD(S) were in touch with him. “They’ll join us in a month’s time,” Yeddyurappa said.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on DeccanHerald.com

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)