VP XI ride on Danish's brilliance

Danish Altaf slammed an unbeaten century to help Vice President’s XI pull off a draw against Bangalore City in the under-16 KSCA inter-zonal tournament here.

With their batsmen failing to convert starts, Bangalore City could post a modest 197 all out in 72.2 overs. Pradyumna Srivastava impressed for Vice President’s XI with 3/58.

Vice President’s XI batsmen however couldn’t complement the efforts of their bowlers and were bundled out for 95 in 48.3 overs. In what was a collective bowling effort, Aditya Mani (3/59) and Smayan Srivastava (3/20) bagged three wickets apiece for Bangalore.

Following on, Vice President’s XI stared at a possible defeat but an unbeaten 100 (232b, 3x4) from Danish and a 77-run knock from Hemanth Reddy helped them salvage a draw. They finished at 218/3. Based on their innings lead, Bangalore bagged three points.

Brief scores: At Green Sports Village: Mangalore Zone: 92 all out in 52.3 overs (Deep Baig 3-14, Amogh Docca 3-12, Jay Desai 3-10) and 159/3 in 67 overs (Azan Thota 45, Raveend S 43 n.o.; Amogh Docca 2-35) drew with Secretary XI: 231 all out in 90 overs (Jasper JK 98, Vinay BR 33, Jay Desai 25; Shreevathsa RA 2-32, Vedanth Bharadwaj 2-39, Azan Thota 2-9).

Secretary XI: 3 Points; Mangalore Zone: 1 Point.

At IAF: Bangalore City: 197 all out in 72.2 overs (Anitej M 45; Siddhant S 2-35, Tarun TK 2-38, Pradyumna Srivastava 3-58) drew with Vice President’s XI: 95 all out in 48.3 overs (Nishanth Kothari 30; Aditya Mani 3-59, Smayan Srivastava 3-20) and 218/3 in 70 overs (Danish Altaf 100 n.o.).
Bangalore City: 3; Vice President’s XI: 1.

At BGS: Combined City XI: 132 all out 88.3 overs (Tarun Sridhar 37; Vishal Hubballi 2-22, Veeranna M 3-32, Omkar U 3-21) and 65/3 in 37 overs (Rohan Koshy 34 n.o.) drew with Dharwad Zone: 103 all out in 58.2 overs (Aditya Shanbhog 34; Suhas Purshotham 2-26, Ninad P 2-19, Vasisht Rampriyan 2-15).
Combined City XI: 3 Points and Dharwad Zone: 1 Point.

U-14 Group I, Division I, II, III inter-club tournament: Brief scores: Social Cricketers: 191 all out in 45.1 overs (Anish 54; Shourya 4-34) bt Jolly Cricketers: 120 all out in 41.3 overs (Kaushik 26; Rahul Prasanna 3-26, Anish 2-22, Kedar 2-15).

Cavaliers Cricket Club: 105 all out in 40 overs (Harshith N 36; Pratyush 3-10, Samarth N 3-7) lt to Friends Union Cricket Club (1): 107/1 in 11 overs (Abhay Rangan A 63 n.o., Darshan R 29 n.o.).

Sir Syed Cricketers: 56 all out in 25 overs (Hamza 2-4, Skanda 3-16) lt to Modern Cricket Club: 57/3 in 17.3 overs.

Swastic Union CC (1): 145 all out in 38 overs (Himanshu 30; Sameera 2-22, Adarsh 2-20, Nischith Kini 2-25) bt Jawahar Sports Club (2): 57 all out in 20.4 overs (Karthikeya 2-17, Arnav 4-10, Harin 2-22).

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on DeccanHerald.com

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)