Oppn plans joint protest on noteban anniversary

Oppn plans joint protest on noteban anniversary

Opposition parties are planning to hold a joint protest on the first anniversary of demonetisation on November 8.

Senior Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad, Trinamool Congress leader Derek O’brien, JD(U) rebel Sharad Yadav, CPI leader D Raja, DMK leader Kanimozhi and BSP leader S C Mishra met here on Monday to discuss the nature of the protest.

Opposition sources said the meeting discussed holding joint protests as well as separate protests in every state opposing the Modi government’s economic policies, including demonetisation, GST and lack of jobs.

The 18 Opposition parties had come together for the Presidential and vice presidential elections and had decided to coordinate with each other to take on the government on various issues.

However, at the August 11 meeting chaired by Congress president Sonia Gandhi, CPM General Secretary Sitaram Yechury had made it clear that it would pursue its own programmes to corner the Modi government.

“All 18 parties are together in opposing the government,” Azad told reporters here brushing aside suggestions of differences.

On Yechury’s absence from the meeting, Azad said the CPM leader was busy with his party’s programmes.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)