BJP Parivarthana Yatra in DK on November 10, 11

Last Updated 07 November 2017, 19:12 IST

The BJP "Nav Karnataka Parivarthana Yatra" will be in Dakshina Kannada for two days from November 10.

Addressing a press meet on Tuesday, BJP district unit president Sanjeeva Matandoor said that six public programmes will be held in the district as a part of the two-day Yatra.

Stating the BJP has sought permission from the police to organise the Yatra, he said, "We are hopeful of getting permission for the Yatra. We are not organising the Yatra against Tipu Jayanti. It is a political programme organised for 75 days by the BJP state unit across Karnataka covering all the 224 Assembly constituencies. We are not holding any communal activities or religious programmes. Hence, we are confident that the permission would not be denied for the Yatra."


The Parivartana Yatra will enter Dakshina Kannada from Sakleshpura at Gundya on November 8 at 4.30 pm. The activists of the Yatra will be given a warm welcome by MP Nalin Kumar Kateel and the BJP local leaders. As permission for Yatra in Kodagu district has been denied, the Yatra will halt in Puttur on November 9.

The public meeting as a part of the Yatra will be held at Channakeshava temple maidan in Sullia on November 10 at 10 am. The public meeting will be held at Puttur at 3 pm and at Belthangady at 4 pm.

On November 11, the public meeting will be held at Bantwal at 11 am, Moodbidri at 3 pm and at Kendra Maidan covering Mangaluru North, Mangaluru South and Mangaluru Assembly constituencies will be held at 5 pm.

"The issue of murder of BJP leaders, sand mafia, land mafia and ganja menace haunting Dakshina Kannada district will be highlighted during the rally. At least 100 persons from each polling booth will take part in the rally. The rally will highlight the achievements of the BJP government in Karnataka and also the Narendra Modi-led government at the Centre," said Matandoor.

Leaders from various political parties and workers will join the BJP during the rally. The decision on leaders joining the BJP has been taken at the respective assembly constituencies.

A few Congress MLAs have also shown interest in joining the BJP. The final decision will be taken by the BJP state leaders on the same.

(Published 07 November 2017, 17:58 IST)

Follow us on