Kunjarani's presence in anti-doping panel stirs debate

Kunjarani's presence in anti-doping panel stirs debate

Kunjarani's presence in anti-doping panel stirs debate

The fresh panels for the National Anti-Doping Agency, approved by the Sports Minister, includes the name of weightlifter Kunjarani Devi who had served a six-month suspension for a doping violation in 2001.

Kunjarani's name figures in the Anti-Doping Disciplinary panel which would be headed by retired district and sessions judge Kuldeep Singh.

Kunjarani, one of the top lifters of her time, had tested positive for the stimulant strychnine in the Asian weightlifting championships and was suspended by the  International Weightlifting Federation (IWF).

The selection of Kunjarani is sure to raise a few eyebrows keeping in mind her doping past. In 2013, triple jumper Renjith Maheswary was denied the Arjuna award on the argument that he had tested positive for a stimulant and served a suspension.

The disciplinary panel also includes former tennis player Rohit Rajpal and former international athlete Reeth Abraham.

The appeals panel would be headed by Justice (retd) RV Easwar and includes two cricketers -- former India star Virender Sehwag and former Delhi opener Vinay Lamba.

The first meeting of the combined panels is scheduled  on Thursday. All of the ongoing cases are expected to be taken up by the new panels.

Disciplinary panel: Chairman: Kuldeep Singh (Retd District and Sessions Judge),  Manik Dogra (advocate), Nalin Kohli (advocate), Bina Gupta (advocate), Surbhi Mehta (advocate), Dr Vinod Dogra, Dr Ankit Sharma, Dr Sumita Gupta, Dr Chengappa, Rohit Rajpal, Reeth Abraham, Akhil Kumar, Kunjarani Devi, Jagbir Singh.

Appeals panel: Chairman: Justice R V. Easwar (retd), Vibha Datta Makhija (Sr Advocate), Naveen Dang, Harsh Mahajan, Vinay Lamba, Virender Sehwag.