UGC asks deemed-to-be universities not to use varsity tag

UGC asks deemed-to-be universities not to use varsity tag

UGC asks deemed-to-be universities not to use varsity tag

The University Grants Commission (UGC) has directed a total of 14 deemed-to-be universities including Jagadguru Sri Shivarathreeswara University and Manipal Academy of Higher Education not to use the word "University," threatening with action in case of non-compliance of its directive.

The Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, Manipal Academy of Higher Education, KLE Academy of Higher Education and Research, BLDE University, Vijaypur, and Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Samsthana are among the list of deemed-to-be-universities in Karnataka whom the commission has issued its directive in this regard.

The higher education regulator has also issued similar directive to 109 deemed-to-be-universities operating in different parts of the country.

This comes following a recent Supreme Court verdict. The apex court, while hearing a petition on deemed-to-be-universities offering correspondence course in engineering and technology, directed the government to restrain deemed-to-be-universities from using the word 'University' within one month from  the date of judgement.

"The institutions are hereby directed to restrain from using the word 'University' with its name failing which necessary action would be initiated in accordance with the UGC (institutions deemed-to-be-universities) Regulations, 2016. Instead, the Institution may mention the word "Deemed to be University" within parenthesis," the UGC said in its directive.


For the deemed-to-be-universities which were notified by the central government with the word "University" with their names, the higher education regulator said they can send it a proposal for an alternative name without using the word 'University.' 

"Such deemed-to-be-universities can also apply for an alternative name with the HRD Ministry," UGC Secretary P K Thakur said.


The Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Bombay; Symbiosis International University, Pune: Homi Bhabha National Institute, Bombay; Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram; and Vellore Institute of Technology, Tamil Nadu are among the deemed-to-be universities which have to comply with the UGC directive.