Ananya Kabir among six to get Infosys Prize

Last Updated 15 November 2017, 07:45 IST

The Infosys Science Foundation has announced the coveted Infosys Prize for 2017-18.

The award is given annually to honor outstanding achievements of contemporary researchers and scientists in six categories: Engineering and Computer Sciences, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Physical Sciences and Social Sciences.

The award carries a gold medal, a citation and a purse of Rs 65 lakh.


Yamuna Krishnan: (Physical Sciences)
Ritabrata Munishi: (Mathematics)
Upinder S Bhulla: (Life Sciences)
Sanghamitra Bandyopadhyaya: (Engineering and Computer Science)
Ananya Jahanara Kabir: (Humaities)
Lawrence Liang: (Social Sciences)

K Dinesh, President, Board of Trustees, Infosys Science Foundation, said, "The winners of Infosys Prize 2017 were selected from several nominations received from across universities and institutes and we are grateful to our distinguished jury members to have taken the time to evaluate and award the most deserving. By shining light on science, we hope to gradually stimulate the minds of future talent, and open up a new world of possibilities for all of us."

He further added, "This award aligns with our core principle of promoting science and inspiring young researchers in the country. We are pleased to note that the Infosys Prize is increasingly gaining recognition and has become one of the most coveted prize awards in the field of science and research in the country."

 The Awards Ceremony for the Infosys Prize 2017 will be held on January 10, 2018, in Bengaluru.

(Published 15 November 2017, 07:30 IST)

Follow us on