Develop scientific temper, students told

Develop scientific temper, students told

Develop scientific temper, students told

Minister for Higher Education Basavaraj Rayareddy urged the youth to develop scientific temper for the future of the country.

He was speaking at the Sahyadri Conclave organised by the Sahyadri College of Engineering and Management here on Saturday, he said, "Science and technology play a vital role in the development of a country. Technology has brought in several revolution in the world. Science and technology should find solution to the problems faced in the society."

Planning and Statistics, Science and Technology Minister M R Seetharam said that educational institutions should impart quality education to the children. The state government has been promoting science and technology. The 3D planetarium at Pilikula will start functioning by February-end. The state government has utilised a sum of Rs 45 crore for the purpose, he added.

Ramakrishna Mutt seer Jithakamananda Maharaj said students are losing interest in science. The Sahyadri College of Engineering and Management has provided an opportunity for the students to interact with Nobel laureates through the conclave, he added.

About 1,200 students from various streams high school, pre-university, graduation and post graduation in Basic Sciences, Engineering and Management will participate in the conclave. The event will span over five days and will include sessions such as interaction with Nobel laureates, panel discussions with scientists, technocrats and entrepreneurs, and sessions on technology and management. There will be technical sessions related to current technological advancements, which will be delivered by renowned professors and technocrats.

Nobel laureates Ada E Yonath (Nobel Prize in Chemistry, 2009) and Serge Haraoche (Nobel Prize in Physics, 2012), international scientists including Joseph Sifakis (Turing Award in Computer Science, 2007) Leeds University, UK, Scientific Researcher in Robotics Robert C Richardson, University of Buffalo, US, president, Satish K Tripathi, Florida University, Professor, S S Iyengar and Ohio University, US professor Anish Arora are participating in the conclave.

Sahyadri College of Engineering and Management chairperson Manjunath Bhandary was present.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)