Naveen, Kushi among KOA awardees

Naveen, Kushi among KOA awardees

John, Kushi among 15 chosen this time

India's first-ever international pro-cyclist Naveen John and paddler Kushi V are in the list of 15 sportspersons who will receive the Karnataka Olympic Association (KOA) awards this year.

Announcing the names of this edition's awardees,  K Govindraj, the KOA president, stated that the award will carry a  cash prize  of Rs one lakh, double the amount the  association offered  last year, along with a memento, citation and a suit.

"This  will encourage the sportspersons to put in more effort for achieving desired results in their respective fields",  he said.

Other notable winners include shooter Nikhil B,  hockey player Pradhan Somanna,  Sharmaada Baluu (tennis) and swimmer Avinash M.

In the veterans category, hockey international Subramani, football goalkeeper Balaji Narasimhan and former tennis player Udaya Kumar are among  the recipients.

The KOA will also provide financial assistance to the tune of Rs 25,000 to its affiliated sports associations for the  conduct of national championships, the KOA president said.  The association will also give cash award  to state teams for winning national championships in various disciplines.

The award selection committee comprised KOA vice-president M Mohanraj, DYES director Anupam Agarwal,  Hockey Karnataka secretary  AB Subbaiah,  KOA secretary general  Anantharaju and SAI regional director M Shyam Sunder.

The awards will be presented at a function at the Yavanika, State Youth Centre, here  on Thursday.    

The award-winners: Daniel S Farid (badminton), Naveen John (cycling), V Avinash (Judo), Nikhil B (shooting), Kushi V (Table Tennis), Anil Kumar (basketball), Pradhan Somanna (hockey), Sharmaada Baluu (tennis) Avinash M (swimming), Sandeep Kate (wrestling), Hemanth Sampaje (media).

Veterans: Subramani (hockey), Balaji Narasimhan (football), Udaya Kumar (tennis), Kiran Kumar Kulkarni (sports medicine expert).

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)