National-level badminton tourney on Jan 13

Torpedoes Sports Club, Haleyangadi, will organise a national-level badminton tournament at U S Mallya Indoor stadium on January 13.

Addressing reporters here on Tuesday, Torpedoes Sports Club president Gauthan Shetty said that the tournament will be inaugurated at 9.30 am. MLC and Legislative Council Chief Whip Ivan D'Souza, Mangaluru City Corporation Taxation and Finance Standing Committee Chairperson Prathibha Kulai, former Minister Krishna J Palemar, DK District Badminton Association president A Sadananda Shetty, District Youth Empowerment and Sports department Deputy Director Pradeep D'Souza, State Badminton champion Ashok Poovaiah and District Youth Congress president Mithun Rai and others will be the guests.

Shetty said that the winners of the tournament will carry a cash prize of Rs 50,000 along with a trophy. The runners-up will be awarded a cash prize of Rs 30,000 along with a trophy. The winners of singles will get a cash prize of Rs 25,000 and trophy while the second prize winners will get a cash prize of Rs 15,000 along with trophy. Attractive prizes will be awarded to the participants in the finals, he said.

Prizes will be awarded in the valedictory programme to be held on January 14 at 5.30 pm. District in-charge minister B Ramanath Rai, Food and Civil Supplies Minister U T Khader, Mangaluru North MLA B A Mohiyuddin Bava, Moodbidri MLA K Abhayachandra Jain, D K District Badminton Association Secretary Ivan Patrao will attend.

Torpedoes Sports Club Vice President Ivan Pinto, Secretary Pratap Shetty, D K District Badminton Association Vice President and Bandminton champion Ashok Poovaiah and Patron Member Nagabhushan Reddy were present.


Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0