Rawat is new CEC, Lavasa election commissioner

Rawat is new CEC, Lavasa election commissioner

Rawat is new CEC, Lavasa election commissioner

Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat was on Sunday appointed the Chief Election Commissioner.

Rawat will succeed Achal Kumar Joti who retires on Tuesday.

Rawat, a 1977-batch IAS officer from the Madhya Pradesh cadre, will have a tenure of little over 10 months.

Former finance secretary Ashok Lavasa was appointed Election Commissioner to fill up the vacancy in the three-member commission.

Lavasa, a 1980-batch Haryana cadre officer, retired as finance secretary on October 31.

During his tenure, Rawat will conduct elections to at least five state assemblies Nagaland, Tripura, Meghalaya, Karnataka and Mizoram.

He may oversee elections to Madhya Pradesh, Chhatisgarh and Rajasthan should the commission decide to hold it along with Mizoram.

Besides, Rawat will also have the opportunity to oversee elections to 58 Rajya Sabha seats.

Prior to his appointment as election commissioner, Rawat served as secretary, Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises.

He had earlier served as a director in the Ministry of Defence in 1993.

During this tenure, he was deputed to South Africa in May 1994 as United Nations election observer to oversee first post-apartheid elections in the country.

Before joining the finance ministry, Lavasa was secretary to the Ministry of Environment and is credited with streamlining the processes for environmental clearances by introducing an online system.

The new process had reduced the time taken for getting environmental clearances for projects from 600 days to 190 days.

Lavasa also co-authored a book 'An Uncivil Servant' that tells the story of former IAS officer Ravi Mohan Sethi's journey from a bureaucrat to a businessman.