Punjab secure second straight victory

The stylish Yuvraj Singh struck a 34-ball 40 to help Punjab beat Mumbai by three wickets for their second successive win in the Super League stage of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy domestic T20 competition here on Monday.

Chasing a challenging 199, Punjab were 72 for two when the out-of-favour India left-hander took control of the match with opener Manan Vohra (42,  31b,  3x4, 2x6).

Yuvraj's knock was studded with two fours and two sixes and also inspired Gurkeerat Singh to bring out his best with a quickfire 18-ball 43 (6x4, 2x6), as they chased down the target with four balls to spare.

Mumbai's butterfingered fielders helped Punjab as Yuvraj was dropped twice -- on eight  and 32.

Punjab, who pipped Karnataka in the Super Over on Sunday, now have two wins in Group A while Jharkhand are virtually ousted after suffering their  second successive defeat, against Rajasthan, at the Jadavpur University campus ground in Salt Lake.

Aditya Garhwal (43 and 2/15) dished out an all-round show as Rajasthan chased down 158 with five balls to spare earlier in the day. Jharkhand made 157 for five with Virat Singh's 43 being the top-score.

Raina slams ton

Suresh Raina roared back to form with an unbeaten century in Uttar Pradesh's 75-run win over Bengal.

Without a half-century for more than 10 innings across formats, Raina cracked a 49-ball century en route to an unbeaten 126 (59b, 13x4, 7x6) to become the second Indian after Virat Kohli to score 7000 runs in the Twenty20 format.

Raina's century helped Uttar Pradesh pile up 235 for three after the UP skipper opted to bat. In reply, Bengal folded for 160 in 16.1 overs.

Brief scores: Mumbai:  198/4  in  20 overs (Shreyas Iyer 79, Akhil Herwadkar 42) lt to Punjab: 199/7  in  19.2 overs (Gurkeerat Mann 43, Manan Vohra 42, Yuvraj Singh 40; Shivam Dube 3-27).

Jharkhand:  157/5  in  20 overs (Virat Singh 43, Ishan Kishan 39; Aditya Garhwal 2-15, Chahar 2-35) lt to Rajasthan:  158/6  in  19.1 overs (Aditya Garhwal 43, Salman Khan 34; Varun Aaron 2-24, Jaskaran Singh 2-42).  

Uttar Pradesh: 235/3 in 20 overs (Suresh Raina 126 n.o., Akashdeep Nath 80) bt Bengal: 160 all out in 16.1 overs (Shreevats Goswami 57; Kuldeep Yadav 4-26).

Baroda: 140/8 in 20 overs (Kedar Devdhar 77; Subodh Bhati 4-20) lt to Delhi: 143/8 in 19.1 overs (Dhruv Shorey 74; Meriwala 4-24).

Liked the story?

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0

  • 0