Army Green, SAI win easily

Army Green, SAI win easily

BPCL lock horns with holders IOCL in final league clash today

Deepak Bejiwad struck four times, including an hat-trick, as SAI thumped Canara Bank 4-1 while five players scored in Army Green’s 6-0 demolition of Karnataka State Police.
Bejiwad drew first blood for SAI in the 20th minute before striking once again eight minutes later to make it 2-0.

While Ronald Kiran pulled one back for Canara Bank in the 49th minute, Bejiwad sealed a convincing victory for SAI in the 52nd and 70th minutes.
The victories lifted SAI to 10 points and Army Green to six points with both teams squaring off against each other on Sunday while KSP and Canara ended their dismal campaign on one point each.

Runners-up and table toppers Bharath Petroleum Corporation (18) clash with defending champions India Oil Corporation (13) on Sunday, needing just one point to regain the title that they lost last year. However, if Army Red (15), who take on Fortis (9) earlier in the, lose or draw then BPCL will be crowned the new champions.

Romesh opened Army Green’s account in the 9th minute and Jagir Singh struck in the 17th. Birsu Bhengra (51st) and Ajay (52nd) slotted home two quick goals while Anil (66th) and Jagir (66th) striked sealed Army Green’s win.

Results: SAI: 4 (Deepak Bejiwad 20th, 28th, 52nd, 70th) bt Canara Bank: 1 (Ronald Kiran 49th); Army Green: 6 (Romesh 9th, Jagir Singh 17th, 68th, Birsu Bhengra 51st, Ajay 52nd, Anil 66th) bt KSP: 0.