Ethiopians win Manipal Silver Marathon

Ethiopians win Manipal Silver Marathon

Ethiopians win Manipal Silver Marathon

Ethiopian runners Mikiyas Yemta and Zinashwork Yenew Ambi won the men's and women's 21.1-kilometre races respectively in the second Manipal Silver Marathon on Sunday.

Both bagged a purse of Rs 75,000 each.

The two runners are in India for a few months to participate in different marathons. They expressed confidence to win having come prepared for some of the races held at this time across the country.

Mikiyas is a three-time winner of Bengaluru Midnight Marathon and has also won 10-kilometre races among other races in India. Zinashwork has been participating in marathons across the country. Zinashwork has participated in a time trial for the Olympics as well.

They will head for Rajkot for the marathon to be held next week.

7,000 runners

Manipal Silver Marathon attracted over about 7,000 participants of all ages. The races began at about 6 am but the runners arrived at the venue long before the scheduled time. There was a carnival at KMC Greens organised by Volunteer Service Organization.

The marathon this year was special as Manipal Academy of Higher Education is celebrating its silver jubilee and the Academy of Higher Education its platinum jubilee. The event is sponsored by Adani, Syndicate Bank and Vodaphone. The theme for the race this year is "Drug-free is the Way to Be".

The winners

21.1-km Open Men (Above 18 years): Mikiyas Yemta, Shiju C P, Kanthilal, Hetram, Ranjit Singh; (35-55 years) - Adinaw Mechonen, Chandrashekar A, Shaji N P; (Above 56 years) - Sadanandan Pillai (MAHE students and staff), Sudeep Kumar, Mukul Raj.

21.1-km Open Women - (Above 18 years) - Zinash Work tenew Ambi, Archana K, Shalini K S, Birtukan Negash, Zinash Bekel; (35-55 years) - Savitha Shastry, Jyothi Udaya Shetty; (Above 56 years) - Sulatha Kamath.

10-Km run Open Women (Above 16 yrs) - Sayli Meng, Supritha B K, Thipavva Sanakki; (35 years - 55 years) - Yulia Ponomareva, Noopar Kowshuk, Reba Philipose. (Above 56 years) - Arunakala S Rao.

10-Km Run Open Men (Above 16 years) - Amanuel Abdu, Vinay Kumar, Chethan G J; (35 years - 55 years) - Saif Hassan, Madhava Saripalla, Ganesh Poojar; (Above 56 years) - Ramaian

5-Km Run Open men (Above 10 years) - Anila Kumara, Prashanth Kumar, Chidanand; (35 years - 55 years) - Anthony, Chandan; (Above 56 years) - Datyananda Nayak.

5-km run women (Above 56 years) - Sandhya Kamath.

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox

Check out all newsletters

Get a round-up of the day's top stories in your inbox