BJP-IPFT combine surges ahead in Tripura

BJP-IPFT combine surges ahead in Tripura

The BJP and its ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT) surged ahead in Tripura establishing a lead in 39 of the 57 constituencies whose trends were available, according to Election Commission sources in Agartala.

Election to 59 seats for the 60-member Assembly was held on February 18. Polling was countermanded in one seat due to the death of a CPI(M) candidate. The ruling CPI(M), which is power for the last 25 years, was ahead in 19 seats. Chief Minister Manik Sarkar is leading over his nearest BJP rival Pratima Bhoumik by over 2,000 votes in Dhanpur constituency. The BJP is leading in 31 seats with its ally IPFT ahead in 8 seats.

BJP state president Biplab Kumar Deb and party MLA Sudip Roy Burman are leading in their respective seats of Banamlipur and Agartala. BJP leader Ram Madhav said the party would come to power in Tripura, winning over 40 seats.

"We are satisfied with the trends available so far. We will wait for the final outcome. The people in the state have voted for a change. They have supported our slogan for change," he said, adding that the CPI(M) gave a "spirited fight"

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)