Shakib upset with umpire's call

Shakib upset with umpire's call

Shakib upset with umpire's call

Shakib-all-Hasan, the Bangladesh captain who was at the heart of the chaos and bad blood during the final moments of their match against Sri Lanka was a much calmer man after his team had won. He tried to explain what sparked off the controversy and agitation.

"The square leg umpire had signalled it a no-ball and then upon discussions, changed the call, which I don't think is the right decision. I don't know if the first bouncer was called as one for the over but when the second bouncer was bowled, the umpire did call it a no-ball.," said Shakib. "We are all humans and making mistakes is in our nature. We should take it on our chin and move forward."

Shakib was not quite clear on whether the decision should have been changed or not. "Only the umpire can say [why the no-ball was overturned]. We haven't discussed on that after the incident," he said. "The onfield umpires can say better, because I haven't had a word with them. I don't want to discuss on this anymore. The fourth umpire hasn't said anything specific to me."

Mahmudullah, was was Man of the Match, agreed that it was the no-ball that set things off. "The confusion was that the ball (Mustafizur's wicket ball) would be the first bumper of the over but it's in the past now, so let's forget it."

Bangladesh's players may want to forget it, but you can be sure the International Cricket Council, especially Chris Broad, the match referee, will be taking a long, hard look at events.


ENDS

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
GET IT
Comments (+)