Post 1st list, dissidence erupts in Karnataka BJP

Post 1st list, dissidence erupts in Karnataka BJP

Post 1st list, dissidence erupts in Karnataka BJP

Voices of dissent emerged in the BJP across the state on Monday from aspirants who failed to make it to the first list of candidates for the May 12 Assembly polls.

The most vociferous revolt came from ex-BBMP councillor and spokesperson of the party city unit N R Ramesh, an aspirant  to the Chickpet seat. The BJP has given the ticket to businessman Uday Garudachar here.

Ramesh went ballistic, holding former deputy chief minister   R Ashoka directly responsible for denying him a ticket. He said Union Minister Ananth Kumar could also be behind the "conspiracy" against him.

"I have nurtured the constituency (Chickpet) for the last four years. I have worked relentlessly and exposed dozens of scams in the Congress regime. Yet, I have been neglected. A businessman (Garudachar) has been given the ticket. Our leaders must have received kickbacks," Ramesh said at a press conference.

His supporters held a protest in front of Ashoka's residence and also staged a rastha roko in Yediyur ward in Bengaluru.

A number of aspirants whose names did not figure in the list of 72 candidates  are making a beeline to Bengaluru to meet state party leaders. Some are even planning to contest as rebels.

The BJP has given tickets to all sitting MLAs except in three segments- Molakalmuru, KGF And Virajpet. In Molakalmuru, Thippeswamy has been replaced by Sriramalu, in KGF, the party has given ticket to sitting MLA Y Ramakka's son Sampangi. Former Speaker K G Bopaiah's name does not figure in the first list as an internal survey indicated that he may not win the polls from Virajpet, party sources said.

Thippeswamy, who had defeated Congress candidate
N Y Gopalakrishna by a margin of over 7,000 votes on a BSRC ticket in the 2013 polls, is planning to contest as a rebel.  He said he was in consultation with his supporters and would take a call in two days.

Former MLA Appu Pattanshetty has also lodged his  dissent for giving the ticket from Bijapur City to Basangouda Patil Yatnal. Pattanshetty had opposed the induction of Yatnal into the BJP recently.

Protests and frictions were noticed in Vijayapura against A S Patil Nadahalli and at Afzalpur in Kalaburagi against Malikayya Guttedar, both of whom were inducted into the BJP a while ago. In Bailhongal in Belagavi, the decision to give the ticket to sitting MLA Vishwanath Patil instead of former MLA Jagadish Metgud has not gone well with the party local unit. Metgud, a two-term MLA is a party loyalist, they say, and should have been preferred over Patil, who won the 2013 polls on a KJP ticket.

 In fact, the first list has 12 "migrants" including P Rajeev (Kudachi), Mallikarjun Khuba (Basavakalyan), Shivaraj Patil (Raichur), Manappa Vajjal (Lingsugur) among others.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily