Outrage over ticket denial to 12 MLAs

Outrage over ticket denial to 12 MLAs

Many other ticket aspirants express outrage too

Outrage over ticket denial to 12 MLAs

Rebellion exploded in the ruling Congress on Sunday with supporters of sitting MLAs raising a banner of revolt against the party for denying tickets to their leaders.

Of the 218 candidates announced by the party, as many as 12 sitting MLAs do not figure in the list. Age factor, health issues, image and poor performance as legislators are said to be the reason for denying them tickets.

The revolt commenced even before the party officially announced its list and continued through the night.

Followers of sitting Congress MLAs G H Srinivas (Tarikere), Manohar Tahasildar (Hangal) and H P Rajesh (Jagaluru–ST reserved) hit the streets and shouted slogans against the party for not giving their leaders the ticket in their respective constituencies.

The party is yet to announce candidates in Shantinagar, Kittur and Nagathana, where it has sitting MLAs.  

In Hangal, Haveri district, supporters of Tahasildar set many tyres on fire and blocked the traffic movement in the town to register their protest. Followers of Srinivas staged a protest, as the party decided not to field him again in the coming polls.

Followers of Rajesh protested in front of the Davangere district Congress office as their leader was denied the ticket. They later met district incharge minister S S Mallikarjun and urged him to intervene in the matter.

Similarly, supporters of former minister B Shivaram staged a protest against Hassan district in-charge minister A Manju, demanding that Shivaram be given the ticket for the Belur constituency.

Anticipating that the party may deny him the ticket, Congress ticket aspirant from C V Ramanagar constituency in Bengaluru, P Ramesh, announced his decision to join the JD(S) on Saturday. He hit out at the Congress leaders, including Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, for 'betraying' him.

This apart, senior party leader V R Sudarshan resigned as KPCC vice-president. He was upset with the party as he is not likely to get the ticket to contest from Kolar Assembly constituency. His apprehension turned out to be true with the party giving the ticket to Syed Zameer Pasha.

Reacting to the rebellion in the party, party president G Parameshwara said, "There are many ticket aspirants. Of course, those who are denied the ticket will be disappointed. The party will placate them by holding talks with them".

Rebellion by the disgruntled ticket aspirants has caused immense embarrassment to the ruling party, which is making all-out efforts to retain power in the May 12 election. The party insiders warned the issue will worsen and it may even damage its poll prospects if the party leadership fails to take immediate action to quell the rebellion.

Sitting MLAs denied ticket

B B Chimmankatti (Badami)

Makbul S Baghwan (Vijayapura City)

R Ramakrishna (Gulbarga Rural)

Manohar Tahasildar (Hangal)

B N Shivannavar (Byadgi)

B M Nagaraj (Siraguppa)

N Y Gopalakrishna (Ballari)

H P Rajesh (Jagalur)

Shivamurthy Naik (Mayakonda)

G H Srinivas (Tarikere)

K Shadakshari (Tiptur)

S Jayanna (Kollegal)