Reservation irrelevant for Dakshina Kannada women

Reservation irrelevant for Dakshina Kannada women

Election to 200 GPs in district to take place on May 12

It has been noted that more than 40 per cent of the candidates for GP polls in Dakshina Kannada district are women, and in the SC/ST category, their number exceeds men.

Briefing the media persons on various aspects of the Gram Panchayat Polls scheduled for May 12 here on Wednesday, Deputy Commissioner V Ponnuraj pointed out that out of the 639 Scheduled Caste candidates, 436 are females while in the Scheduled Tribe category, it is 361 out of 421. “We talk about one third reservation for women. But these women have made it all meaningless,” the DC mused.


The Deputy Commissioner announced that the Gram Panchayat Polls will be completely apolitical. No candidate will be allowed to seek votes on party basis, use party symbols or showcase the party’s achievements. Besides, party leaders will not be allowed to seek vote for the candidates.

The candidates can seek vote on their individual capacity, and they can issue pamphlets if needed, but the pamphlet should not be the manifesto of any political party. This way, every candidate will get equal opportunity, the DC pointed out.

Poll situation

There are 203 GPs in Dakshina Kannada district with a total population of 12,69,858. Election for three of these GPs (Pudur in Bantwal Taluk, Venur and Arambodi in Belthangady taluk) will be held later as their terms are not over yet. The remaining 200 GPs have 3,208 positions to be filled of which 1,434 are reserved for women.

On a whole, 11,583 nominations had been filed, of which 174 has been rejected on various grounds. After withdrawal, finally, 7,500 are in fray.  All the nine members have been elected unopposed in Kalladka GP of Sullia Taluk. Two GPs in Mangalore Taluk and 6 GPs in Bantwal Taluk too have elected some of the members unopposed.

As per the direction of the Election Commission of India, a Group-B officer has been appointed as Election officer in all the GPs in which polling is taking place. Also 208 Shirastedar Grade officers have been appointed as Assistant Election Officers.

Sensitive booths

There are 1,115 polling booths in total of which 252 have been categorised as sensitive while 176 are hyper sensitive. In case of violence in a booth, complaints can be submitted to the Nodal officers in charge of every Taluk, Taluk Panchayat executive officer, GP Secretary, Circle Inspector or the election observer.

Nodal officers

Five officers have been recognised as the Nodal officers for the GP polls in the districts. They are, Assistant Commissioner Prabhulinga Kavilakkatte for Mangalore Taluk (9036228505), MUDA Commissioner P G Ramesh for Bantwal Taluk (9448055553), Forest Officer K T Kaveriappa for Belthangady Taluk (9448421965), Assistant Commissioner Dr K Harish Kumar for Puttur Taluk (9448549197) and Special Land Acquisition Officer of MCC B Sadashiva Prabhu for Sullia Taluk (9448169434).

Counting centres

There is one mustering, de-mustering and counting centre in each taluk. They are Rosario Composite P U College (Mangalore), Infant Jesus School (Bantwal), SDM College, Ujire (Belthangady), St Philomena’s College (Puttur) and KVG Engineering College (Sullia).