Symposium to mark 60 years of EC

The Chief Election Commissioner Naveen Chawla, Commissioners Dr S Y Qureshi and V S Sampath will participate in the event. The zonal conference, scheduled on May 11 will be attended by CEOs of four states - Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala and union territories - Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Puducherry and Lakshadweep.

Chief Electoral Officer C S Suranjan, in a press conference here on Friday, said a symposium on sharing best electoral practices will  be held on the second day of the event. Issues like- involving youth in the electoral process, voters’ education - new ways and alliances, challenges in the management of electoral rolls and innovative practices in election management will be discussed in the symposium. As many as 37 papers will be presented by deputy commissioners, who served as election officers.

Photo exhibition

The commission is holding an exhibition of photos, which trace origin and growth of the Election Commission.  The exhibition will be held at Chitrakala Parishat for four days from May 11. CEC Naveen Chawla will inaugurate the exhibition.  The event is open for the public between 10 am and 5 pm on all the four days.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)