Chief Minister's Cup hockey from June 12

Chief Minister's Cup hockey from June 12

Names of the teams taking part in the eight-day tournament have not been released yet.
The winners will get Rs six lakh and the runners up will receive Rs three lakh.

Winners of the third-place playoff will be rewarded with Rs two lakh while the losing semifinalists will take home Rs one lakh.

The government is planning on conducting football and basketball tournaments on similiar lines and it is also learnt that the government will spend Rs two crore to provide permanent floodlight facilities to the hockey stadium in Bangalore.

The invitation cup will be played on the newly-laid turf at the Karnataka State Hockey Association stadium in Bangalore.

After almost a year’s break, the hockey fans in the City will finally get a chance to witness some hockey matches.

Due to the re-laying of the synthetic surface at KSHA, this year’s State Super Division hockey matches were played last month in Madikeri.