199 GPs go for polls today

199 GPs go for polls today

7,500 in fray for 3,118 seats

The election to 199 Gram Panchayats will be held in Dakshina Kannada district on Wednesday between 7 am and 5 pm. The district has 1,103 polling booths and after randominsation, 4,412 polling officials have been sent to their respective polling booths on Tuesday.

For carrying the polling officials to their respective booths, 175 buses, 17 mini buses, 92 vans and 223 jeeps were utilised. The district has 252 sensitive and 176 hyper sensitive polling booths, which have been provided with additional police security. The polling process will be recorded in the sensitive and hyper sensitive polling booths. Even violation of law during polling will be documented through videocamera. For the peaceful polling, dry days have been declared in the district from Tuesday till Wednesday midnight. Kasargod district collector has also been requested to declare dry days in the border areas.

About 75 teams have been constituted with route officers, squad officers, mobile team and fulfledged police team. These teams will visit 15 polling booths. Any vehicles involved in carrying voters to the polling booths will be seized, DC informed in a release.

After the polling, the ballot boxes will be taken to the strong room in the respective taluk headquarters and will be sealed. There is one mustering, de-mustering and cou nting centre in each taluk. They are Rosario Composite P U College (Mangalore), Infant Jesus School (Bantwal), SDM College, Ujire (Belthangady), St Philomena’s College (Puttur) and KVG Engineering College (Sullia).

The Election Vigilant appointed by the Election Commission will travel across the district to monitor the polling process. DC has appealed the people to exercise their franchise freely without any fear.

Ban on fair

In the backdrop of Gram Panchayat polls, Deputy Commissioner has banned temple fair, shandy markets on Wednesday. The shandy and fair which was supposed to held at Beluvai in Moodbidri, Vagga in Bantwal, Nellyadi, Subrahmany and Aranthod have been banned.


As many as 7,500 candidates are in fray for the 3,118 seats. 89 candidates have been elected unanimously in the district. The DC said that there are 8,96,719 voters in the district of which 4,45,606 are men and 4,51,113 are women.

ID cards

Apart from Voter’s ID, 21 other documents will be accepted during voting. Passport, driving license, PAN card, ration card, SC/ST/OBC certificate with photo, ID card issued to students by recognised institutions, Bank/Kisan/Post pass books, job card issued under MGNREGS, smart card etc are some of the alternate ID cards.