Ferrao, Koko conjure Joy for Vasco

Ferrao, Koko conjure Joy for Vasco

Goans climb to third with 4-0 win over Malabar

Ferrao, Koko conjure Joy for Vasco

Sibra Narzaary of Vasco (left) and Prasoon R of Malabar United battle for possession during their I-League Second Division match in Bangalore on Sunday. DH Photo

Ferrao opened the scoring in the 27th minute and followed it up with a strike in the 65th. Sakibo then joined the party, converting a spot kick in the 75th minute and scoring another a minute into stoppage time to help Vasco move up the table with nine points from five matches.

Hindustan Aeronautics Sports Club lead the league with 12 points while ONGC are in second place with ten.

Led by central midfielder Mangut Ayub, Vasco took charge of proceedings from the start. The tall Nigerian created three chances within four minutes but as was the script they followed for 25 minutes, they missed by the narrowest of margins.

Malabar made their first real attempt in the 26th minute, but skipper Jacken Sebastian’s delicate back-heel to R Prasoon in the centre went in vain as the striker’s shot sailed miles above the post.

Sakibo, moving down the left, managed to keep the ball in possession long enough to see Ferrao make a run towards goal, and sent in a smart pass. With none of the Malabar defenders around, Joy only had to contend with goalkeeper Pramod P, and the short striker did well to lob the ball over the ’keeper to hand Vasco a 1-0 lead.

With dark clouds hovering the stadium and loud cries of ‘bad light’ from the crowd, the players returned after the interval. Both teams indulged in midfield play for a while but Ferrao doubled Vasco’s advantage with a powerful right-footer from the left off a great ball from Sakibo. Malabar’s fortunes were further hampered when Emmanuel Aja Awa brought down Sakibo inside the box. Sakibo converted the penalty with ease and sealed the win with an uncontested strike from the right, past a helpless Malabar ’keeper.

Other result: Mohameddan Sporting: 1 (Amritpal Singh 21st) drew Oil India: 1 (Zaidin Hamar 70th).