Chantaru was first GP in Udupi to announce result

 The turn out in the Naxal prone areas of the district were high on the polling day. The Congress party supported candidates have done extremely well in the areas, said Congress leaders.

Speaking to Deccan Herald, District Congress President M A Gafoor said “the outcome in these areas shows the voters’ dissent against BJP. BJP was able to lure the voters with its fake pledges during the assembly and Lok Sabha polls. However it failed drastically to win the hearts of the people. It only assured countless packages and not at all endowed the public with any facilities. People in these areas lack basic infrastructure facilities,” he added.

“A majority of the Gram Panchayats in Byndoor were bagged by the Congress supported candidates. There are 33 Gram Panchayat in the area of which 32 Gram Panchayat went to poll,” headded. “Congress supported candidates won 21 seats (Marvanthe was elected unopposed) while 11 were won by BJP supported candidates. There are 20 Gram Panchayats in In Kundapur, of which 10 has been won by candidates supported by Congress,” Gafoor added.  “Congress supporters in the Gram Panchayats surrounding the Nagarjuna power plant made a clean sweep, while the areas like Belmannu and Inna, the areas once earmarked for Suvarna Corridor project were won by the BJP supported candidates,” both the party claimed. BJP District President Udaykumar Shetty informed Deccan Herald “out of the 107 seats declared, 59 has been won by BJP supported candidates and 41 by Congress supported candidates. As many as 6 seats have been tied,” he added.

“There are 34 GP seats in Kundapur, of which 15 were won by BJP supported candidates and 7 by Congress supported candidates while 1 ended up in tie.  The counting centres in Udupi, Karkala and Kundapur Taluks were T M A Pai English Medium School, Taluk Office and Bhandarkar’s College respectively. There were as many as 151 counting tables in Udupi, 123 tables in Kundapur and 72 in Karkala taluk.   There are as many as 146 Gram Panchayats in the district, of which polling was held for 143.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)