Cong fails to get nod for no-confidence motion

JD(S) member fails to turn up at the crucial meeting

Cong fails to get nod for no-confidence motion

Petitioning:  Congress leader V P Shashidhar submitting a memorandum to Zilla Panchayat CEO Mirja Akbarulla, demanding Zilla Panchayat Vice-President to conevene a meeting to decide on no confidence motion against President V M Vijaya. DH Photo

The Zilla Panchayat has 29 members. To get the no-confidence motion through, the Congress required the support of 15 members. Unfortunately, JD(S) member H B Ganesh who had signed the no-confidence motion letter was absent at the meeting.
The special meeting was convened at 11 am in the ZP hall. However, the ruling party members, including ZP President V M Vijaya remained absent. Congress had only 11 members.

Later, Congress member V P Shashidhar met ZP CEO Mirja Akbarulla and appealed him to nullify the special meeting convened on Saturday.

A press release from ZP CEO stated that Congress has failed to get the no confidence motion through at the meeting. Hence, the special meeting has been concluded.
Congress member V P Shashidhar said “we had submitted a memorandum to ZP President V M Vijaya, requesting him to convene the special meeting to move no-confidence motion on April 27. However, as per Karnataka Panchayatraj Act 180 (2 a), the President should have convened the meeting within 15 days. However, calling for a meeting after 25 days is not constitutional. Hence, the Saturday’s meeting should be suspended. The special meeting should be convened to discuss the no confidence motion. If the CEO fails to initiate any action, then we will approach court,” he warned.
Independent member H S Ashok, JD(S) candidate H B Ganesh, P B Manjula, Congress members Deerghakeshi Shivanna, M K Nanjappa, Vrindababu, Bhanumathi, A Lokeshkumar, V P Shashidhar, Rajamma Rudraiah, M B Abdul Lathif, Humayunbegum, Chitra Ramesh, K M Balakrishna, Chambanda Kalaiah, Uthappa had signed the no confidence motion notice.

BJP members alleged that the Congress has failed in moving the no confidence motion against the BJP. Sources in the BJP said “there is no possibility of ZP Vice-President Anitha Kanjithanda calling for a special meeting to discuss the no confidence motion. Hence, ZP President V M Vijaya and Vice-President Anitha Kanjithanda are likely to continue for the next six months.”

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)