Clarke retains T20 captaincy for England tour

Clarke retains T20 captaincy for England tour

Clarke had himself questioned his place in the team after Australia lost in the finals of the Twenty20 World Cup in the West Indies earlier this month but selectors have kept faith in him for the two Twenty20 matches against Pakistan to be played in England on July 5 and 6.

"The Twenty20 squad is the same as the one which recently reached the final of the ICC World Twenty20," Selection panel Chairman Andrew Hilditch said in a statement.
"While it was disappointing to lose the World Twenty20 final, Australia has made great progress in Twenty20 cricket in the last 12 months, winning an extremely high percentage of our games and of course being the only undefeated side in the tournament until the final," he added.

Before the Twenty20s against Pakistan, Australia will play a one-dayer against Ireland on June 17 in Dublin, followed by a June 22 to July 3 five-ODI series against England. Ricky Ponting will lead the side in these matches with Clarke as his deputy. The ODI squad has Marsh in place of Adam Voges.

"It is the same squad that won the ODI series in New Zealand earlier this year, except that Shaun Marsh has recovered from injury and returns to the side in place of Adam Voges," Hilditch said.

"Shaun deserves to return to the side and he gives us very good options at the top of the order in one-day cricket," he added.Marsh had been laid low by a back problem since February this year. The squad also has emerging all-rounder Steve Smith.
Pacer Brett Lee, who is recovering from a thumb injury, will have to wait a little more before attempting an international comeback as physio Alex Kountouris said he still hasn't started bowling.

"Brett Lee is recovering from the elbow muscle injury that he picked before the ICC World Twenty20 and is yet to commence bowling," Kontouris said.After the Twenty20s, Australia will also play a two-match Test series against Pakistan, the squad for which would be announced later.?

Australia ODI Squad: Ricky Ponting (c), Michael Clarke (vc), Doug Bollinger, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Ryan Harris, James Hopes, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Clint McKay, Steve Smith, Shane Watson, Cameron White.
Australia Twenty20 Squad: Michael Clarke (c), Cameron White (vc), Daniel Christian, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Dirk Nannes, Steven Smith, Shaun Tait, David Warner, Shane Watson.