Engg college list by Saturday: AICTE

Pending additional seats will be decided by court

Engg college list by Saturday: AICTE

The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) is likely to come out with the list of approved institutions and programmes, including engineering and architecture, on June 26.

“We will try our utmost to put the list of the existing institutions approved by us on our website on June 26 evening or latest by 27th morning,” AICTE acting chairman S S Mantha told Deccan Herald here on Wednesday.

“The names of the new institutions, which have been cleared in the first chance, are already there in our website.

“The case of new institutions which have not been approved and have gone on appeal will be decided on June 28 evening or latest by 29th morning,” he said.

Court cases

However, there will remain some more seats depending on the pending litigation. That will be decided by the court, he added.

The apex body for regulating technical education in the country had stated that the last date for it to announce the status of engineering colleges, including renewal of recognition to colleges, inclusion of new courses, student intake and other related matters, would be June 30. This date, announced way back in January, was applicable to all the states. The AICTE emphatically said there would not be any change in the schedule.


“It has been the norm every year to make this announcement by June 30 and this is happening as per the court’s order. So the AICTE is helpless if somebody says that we are at fault. Moreover, this date is applicable to all the colleges in the country and not only to Karnataka,” Mantha said. No other states had complained of any delay.

The admission process should commence only after the status of the institutions was  finalised and the number of seats available confirmed, in the best interests of students.

The eight institutions from the State which made it the first time are: AGM Rural College of Engineering and Technology (Degree in Engineering), Varur, Dharwad; Gopalan College of Engineering and Management (integrated campus), Sonnenahalli, Bangalore; Adept Institute of Management Studies and Research (MBA), Belur; Kirloskar Institute of Advanced Management Studies (PGDM), Harihar, Davangere; ISBR Business School (PGDM), Hosur; Krupanidhi Group of Institutions (integrated campus), Chikkabelandur; Indus Business Academy (PGDM), Lakshmipra, Thataguni Post and International School of Business and Media (Management), Niduvanda village, Sompura.

Liked the story?

  • Happy
  • Amused
  • Sad
  • Frustrated
  • Angry

Thanks for Rating !

Dear Reader,

Welcome to our new site! We would appreciate it if you could send us your feedback about our site to ​ dhfeedback@deccanherald.co.in

Thanks for your support!