RS members prefer mother tongue while taking oath

Rudy, re-elected as a BJP member from Bihar, first took oath in Bhojpuri. But, since the dialect does not come under the 8th Schedule of the Constitution, he had to take oath again in Hindi.

In a bid to avoid a similar predicament, another BJP member V P Singh, elected from Rajasthan, requested Chairman Hamid Ansari to include Rajasthani in the 8th Schedule. He then took oath in Sanskrit, as also his party colleagues Anil Madhav Dave and Tarun Vijay.
Information and Broadcasting Minister Ambika Soni took oath in Punjabi.

Some members also took oath in Kannada, Telugu, Marathi, Tamil and Oriya.

Congress member Vijay Darda wore a kurta with Mahatma Gandhi's sketch on the back and "Satyamev Jayate" printed in front.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)