Kiwis fly past Indian women

Aimee Watkins hammers 89 as New Zealand post 52-run win to march into final

 Electing to bat, New Zealand made a formidable 145 for five and Watkins (89 n.o, 58b, 10x4, 2x6) was the main contributor, in fact the only one. In reply, the Indian chase never bloomed into something bigger, as they lost wickets at regular intervals to end up at 93 for nine for a 52-run defeat. New Zealand will take on the winners of the second semis between England and Australia in the final at Lords on June 21.

Chasing 146 was certainly a difficult task on a slow pitch, but the Indians hardly showed any spirit while failing to counter the guiles of New Zealand bowlers. India’s hope of making a fist of the target was centred around Mithali Raj. But the star batter could not utilise the start she received and fell after making 20 (22b, 2x4).

With her dismissal India’s ambition of making it to the finals too was blown away. Amita Sharma played a nice little cameo (24, 27b, 2x4, 1x6) towards the end but India had already past the situation of benefitting from solo efforts. Sian Ruck and Amy Satterthwaite shared four wickets among themselves to wreck the Indian batting.

Earlier, Watkins, New Zealand’s best batter in this tournament, came up with a superb innings full of innovation and power to subdue the Indians. The pitch was not exactly conducive for stroke play, but the left-handed batswoman played some top shots on either side of the wicket to display her prowess.

That the next top score in the New Zealand line-up was 14 made by Sophie Devine tells the importance of Watkins’ innings. The Indian fielders too deserve a pat playing a huge role in restricting the Kiwis to 145, and Mithali’s throw to dismiss Satterthwaite was a treat to watch.

India started their chase badly with Poonam falling for five with the team’s total on seven. Anjum Chopra and Harman departed in quick succession but Mithali remained firm even though she could not score at the required pace at any stage of the innings.
But India could not extend their domination beyond small pockets as New Zealand emerged runaway winners.

Score board

Doolan c Chopra b Dhar 3
Bates c Kaur b Amita 10
Watkins (not out) 89
Satterthwaite (run out) 10
Browne st Naik b Priyanka 5
McGlashan b Amita 4
Devine (not out) 14
Extras (W-8, LB-2) 10
Total (for 5 wkts, 20 overs) 145
Fall of wickets: 1-5, 2-45, 3-69, 4-96, 5-120.  Bowling: Jhulan 4-0-22-0, Rumeli 4-1-35-1, Amita 4-0-21-2, Harman 1-0-14-0, Poonam 3-0-17-0, Sultana 3-0-28-0, Priyanka 1-0-6-1.
Poonam c Devine b Ruck 5
Anjum c Bates b Pulford 15
Mithali  c McGlashan b S’thwaite 20
Harman b Ruck 0
Reema Malhotra (run out) 4
Amita c Watkins b Satterthwaite 24
Sulakshna c McGlashan b Bates 2
Rumeli c Bates b Devine 4
Priyanka (run out) 5
Jhulan (not out) 9
Sultana (not out) 2
Extras (NB-1, W-1, LB-1) 3
Total (9 wkts, 20 overs) 93
Fall of wickets: 1-7, 2-30, 3-30, 4-42, 5-49, 6-58, 7-76, 8-77, 9-87.
Bowling: Devine 4-0-17-1, Ruck 4-0-18-2, Pulford 4-0-17-1, Satterthwaite 4-0-20-2, Bates 4-0-20-1.

Comments (+)