Richa sinks 200 medley mark for second gold

Richa sinks 200 medley mark for second gold

Karnataka womens team enters waterpolo final

The lone gold medal for Karnataka was won by the men’s 4x100M freestyle relay team. Richa, who went down to Maharashtra’s Surabhi Tipre in the 400 and 800 freestyle events on Thursday, cantered home in two minutes 23.62 seconds to fetch the 200IM title. “The hard work finally paid off,”said an elated Richa.

The Delhiite also became the first swimmer here to go under the National record. Richa obliterated her own mark of 2:24.93 created two-years ago at the Asian age group meet.

The other notable performance of the day was by M B Balakrishnan. The Tamil Nadu lad, who bettered the 50 backstroke meet mark on Thursday, lowered the 100 backstroke time to 58.30.

It was also a day of mixed feelings for Aaron D’Souza as the Bangalorean, who lost to J Agnishwar in the 200IM, received the happy news of winning the Ekalavya Award which will be presented to him on Sunday. “One down, two to go,” Aaron said referring to the Arjuna Award and Khel Ratna Awards.

“This is the first step towards achieving my goals in life. I am really excited,” added Aaron. In the morning, the Karnataka quartet of Rehan Poncha, Rohit R Havaldar, Ashwin Menon and Aaron clocked three minutes 37.70 seconds for gold.

Karnataka have eight gold, 13 silver and five bronze while Maharashtra claimed 12 gold, three silver and seven bronze.

State eves in final

In the waterpolo competition, Karnataka women, powered by a three-goal effort from Renu R T, edged out Kerala 7-5 in the semifinal. State eves will take on Police in Saturday’s final.

Results: Men: 50M freestyle: Virdhawal Khade (Mah) 23.26, 1; Arjun J P (RSPB) 24.69, 2; Anshul Kothari (Guj) 24.78, 3. 100M backstroke: M B Balakrishnan (TN) 58.30. New Meet Record (Old: 59.12, Rehan Poncha, Karnataka, 2008), 1; Rehan Poncha (Kar) 59.98, 2; Praveen Tokas (RSPB) 1:00.21, 3. 200M individual medley: J Agnishwar (TN) 2:11.13, 1; Aaron D’Souza (Kar) 2:12.20, 2; Sandeep Sejwal (RSPB) 2:14.69, 3.  4x100M freestyle relay: Karnataka (Rehan Poncha, Rohit R Havaldar, Ashwin Menon, Aaron D’Souza) 3:37.70, 1; RSPB (Praveen Tokas, K Mani G Mohan, Arjun J P) 3:40.07, 2; Maharashtra (Virdhawal Khade, Ajey M, Saurabh S, Apurva Sharma) 3:46.97, 3.

Women: 50M freestyle: Talasha Prabhu (Goa) 27.50, 1; Sneha T (Kar) 27.78, 2; Shubha C (Kar) 28.07, 3. 1500M freestyle: Surabhi Tipre (Mah) 18:05.73, 1; Srishti Tandon (Raj) 19:07.97, 2; Sushaka Pratap (Kar) 19:28.65, 3. 100M backstroke: Jyotsna Pansare (Mah) 1:08.65, 1; Fariha Zaman (Kar) 1:09.23, 2; Heta Davey (MP) 1:10.45, 3. 200M individual medley: Richa Mishra (Police) 2:23.62. National record (Old: 2:24.93, Richa Mishra, Asian Age Group, 2007) 1; Pooja R Alva (Kar) 2:29.12, 2; Talasha Prabhu (Goa) 2:31.87, 3.

4x100M freestyle relay: Maharashtra (Arti G, Aditi D, Jyotsna Pansare, Surabhi Tipre) 4:10.98, 1; Karnataka (Fariha Zaman, Pooja R Alva, Sneha T, Shubha C) 4:15.40, 2; Tamil Nadu (A Gulnaz, Sherlyn M, M Raghavi, Anusha M) 4:25.00, 3.

Waterpolo: Men: Semifinals: RSPB bt Maharashtra 13-5; Kerala bt Bengal 6-5. Women: Karnataka: 7 (Renu T 3, Malvika Gubbi 2, Eakshita Prasad 1, Shruthi M S 1) bt Kerala: 5 (M R Nithya 2, B G Varghese 1, Saranya Nair 1, Neetha U N 1); Poilce bt Maharashtra 7-5.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)