Rs 10 lakh award instituted for artists

  It is the brainchild of SEMG CEO Martin da Costa, and is termed as the first-of-its-kind award.

Artists will be judged on exhibitions or other presentations of their work produced in the last 12 months. The jury will consist of renowned art expert Tasneem Mehta, Managing Trustee of the Dr Bhau Daji Lad Museum, art historian Dr Kavita Singh, and art connoisseur Rajshree Pathy. Art critic Girish Shahane as the head of Advisory Committee will help the jury in shortlisting the entries.

Interested artists can file their nominations on Besides, the advisory committee will approach the country's reputed galleries to nominate three artists, Shahane told Deccan Herald. September 30 is the last date for filing the nominations.

Top 20 shortlisted artists will be featured in The Škoda Prize catalogue and the art works of final three artists will be exhibited in New Delhi.

The final winner will be announced in January to coincide with the India Art Summit in the Capital.

Assembly elections 2019 | Get the latest news, views and analysis on elections in Haryana and Maharashtra on

For election-related news in Maharashtra, click here

For election-related news in Haryana, click here

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)