Book awards in Udupi on June 24

 Addressing a news conference on Saturday, Authority Member Pradeep Kumar Kalkura said that the details of the awardees have been published already and it is for the first time that a State-level award of this kind is being given away in Udupi.

The programme will be inaugurated by Home Minister Dr V S Acharya at 5 pm and he will hand over the ‘Best publication award’. MP D V Sadananda Gowda will hand over the ‘Pustaka Sogasu’ prize. Authority President Dr Siddalingaiah will preside.

He said that Authority will provide over 300 books costing about Rs 20,000 to six schools including Malpe Government Pre University College, Olakadu High School and Balakedarara Vedike.

He said that Manohara Granthamale will exhibit all the books from its publication during the occasion along with Kannada Book Authority. There will be a discount sale of books at the venue. Cultural programme will be held from 4 pm onwards.

Authority Administrative Officer Ashok L Chalavadi, Balakedarara Vedike Trustee Shantharaj Aithal among others were present.

Best publication

Best Publication award will be given to Manohar Granthamale Dharwad. The ward will carry a cash amount of Rs 1 lakh.

‘Noorinnur varshagala hinde’ bags first prize under Pustaka Sogasu and will be given a cash prize of Rs 25,000, followed by ‘Prachina Egypt Sanskritiya Mulakkondu Payana’, which bagged second prize with a cash prize of Rs 20,000.

Third prize will be given to ‘Drishya kalaprapancha’ carrying cash prize of Rs 15,000.
Fourth place has been bagged by ‘Keshanarthana nurentu thodakugalu’, fifth place by Karnataka Vasthushilpa udhyana.

Children’s book prize will be given to ‘Namma Putta Prayogashale’.

Comments (+)