Castelino, Nischitha emerge champions

While Castelino brushed aside a feeble challenge from Rajas Jawalkar of Belgaum 21-11, 21-14; Nischitha dashed Poorvisha S Ram’s hopes of a grand double with a clinical performance.

Girls’ titlist Poorvisha found Nischitha a different kettle of fish as she went down 14-21, 13-21 in a one-sided title clash.

Nischitha completed a double of her own when she teamed up with D Guruprasad to outwit Adarsh Kumar and Adfa Taqui 21-15, 24-22 in the mixed doubles final.

Abhishek Yeligar of Dharwad won the boys’ singles title. In the only final that went to three games, he beat back a mid-match challenge from Belgaum’s Rajas Jawalkar on his way to a 21-18, 21-23, 21-10 triumph.

Results (all finals):

Men's singles: Rohan Castelino (Bangalore) bt Rajas Jawalkar (Belgaum) 21-11, 21-14. Doubles: Krishna SDS/Vineeth Manuel (Bangalore) bt Abhijeet Naimpally/ Guru- prasad D (Bangalore) 21-9, 21-12.

Boys’ singles: Abhishek Yeligar (Dharwad) bt Rajas Jawalkar (Belgaum) 21-18, 21-23, 21-10.
Women’s singles: Nischitha GM (Bangalore) bt Poorvisha S Ram (Bangalore) 21-14, 21-13.
Mixed doubles: D Guruprasad/Nischitha GM (Bangalore) bt Adarsh Kumar/Adfa Taqui (Bangalore) 21-15, 24-22.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily
Comments (+)