BJP, JD(S) candidates file papers amid show of strength

BJP, JD(S) candidates file papers amid show of strength

BJP candidate for Krishnaraja Assembly segment S A Ramdas and the party nominee for Nanjangud seat B Harshavardhan filed their nominations, on Saturday.

While Ramdas filed the papers at Mysuru City Corporation (MCC) office, Harshavardhan filed his nomination papers at the office of Returning Officer in Nanjangud. Harshavardhan is the son-in-law of former minister and BJP state vice-president V Srinivas Prasad.

Ramdas, who offered special puja at Ramalingeshwara temple at Vidyaranyapuram, took out a procession in the city and filed the papers at 2.10 pm.

He was accompanied by BJP state vice-president V Srinivas Prasad, MP Pratap Simha and Thontadarya.

Ramdas said, “I have filed papers for the sixth time from the party ticket. With the pro-people programmes of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the KR segment witnessed several development activities,” he said.

"There were several aspirants for the ticket. I have met the aspirants and all of them will join hands to support the BJP,” he said. Ramdas also collected Rs 36,000 donation from his supporters for poll expenditure.

Harshavardhan offered prayers at Chintamani Ganapati temple at Hejjige Circle in Nanjangud, before filing the papers.

Speaking to reporters, Harshavardhan said, Srinivas Prasad, who represented the constituency twice, worked for the development of the constituency. “I have involved in the development activities from last six years and I will work for the people,” he said.

Srinivas Prasad, BJP leaders Sheelarani Basavalingappa and others accompanied Harshavardhan.

JD(S) candidate

JD(S) candidate from NR Constituency Abdul Azeez filed the papers at the Returning Officer’s office in Chamundi Vihar Stadium, in the city. He, along with the supporters, took out a procession from Millenium Circle to Chamundi Vihar Stadium. The procession passed through Fountain Circle, Tipu Circle, FTI Circle. He also offered floral tributes to the statue of Dr B R Ambedkar.

Likewise, 11 others submitted their papers. While three people filed papers from Varuna Assembly segment, one each from T Narasipur, Narasimha, Chamaraja, Krishnaraja, Periyapatna, Hunsur, H D Kote, Nanjangud and Chamundeshwari assembly segments filed the papers.

Till Friday, the Election Commission has received 54 nomination papers from 34 candidates, including Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and MLA G T Devegowda, both candidates from Chamundeshwari Assembly segment.

DH Newsletter Privacy Policy Get top news in your inbox daily